Skip to content

2016 United in Courage Awards

On May 10, 2016, Courage Campaign hosted the Third Annual United in Courage Awards in Sacramento to honor progressive champions in the labor community. Just blocks from the state capital, leaders of statewide progressive organizations gathered with elected officials and California workers for an inspiring evening. This year’s awards honored the more than 3,000 Kaiser Mental Health Clinicians of NUHW (National Union of Healthcare Workers) for their historic campaign to restore adequate mental health care for millions of Californians, and to Tracy Surrette of CSEA (California State Employees Association) for her tireless leadership and volunteer hours to advance progressive causes in California and build bridges between her union and the larger community. Sen. Darrell Steinberg presented the award to the Kaiser clinicians. Willie Pelote, the 2015 honoree, presented the award to Surrette.

Special thanks to our sponsors: California School Employees Association, National Union of Healthcare Workers, California Federation of Teachers, International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers, Kaufman Legal Group, Siegel LeWitter Malkani, National Association of Social Workers – California Chapter, UFCW Western States Council, Fearless Advocacy, Law Office of Florice Hoffman, L.C., Mathews Law Group, Sacramento Central Labor Council, AFL-CIO, Drug Policy Alliance, and American Civil Liberties Union of California.